Knowlton Nash: Canadian Broadcast Mentor (1927-2014)

Knowlton_Nash broadcaster mentorChanging his mind about wanting to be a jockey led to the start of a 37-year career in broadcasting and becoming a role model for virtually all TV-news broadcasters. His successor at the CBC Peter Mansbridge said, “As a mentor to me, whatever kind of work crisis I might be going through or career crisis, I’d talk to Knowlton, and he’d give me fantastic advice.”

Another broadcaster described Mr. Nash’s influence this way. “I interviewed Mr. Nash about his book, Kennedy and Diefenbaker: Fear and Loathing Across the Undefended Border. He explained how he had covered both the Kennedy and Diefenbaker political administrations. I asked him what these men were like when they weren’t commenting on public policy. He said Diefenbaker was a man who looked at you for what you were and Kennedy was a man who looked at you for what you could become. His comment gave me a lifelong perspective on those who had given me guidance and believed I could do something with my talents. He basically helped me to identify my mentors. I never had the opportunity to thank Mr. Nash in person for his guiding words. All I could do was pay it forward with that same attitude.

Leave a Reply

